100% alpaca wool shawl, ‘Green Waves’

NOVICA, in association with National Geographic, searches the world to work directly with the finest artisan designers. Deep green waves wash over black sand, creating bold, swirling patterns. Knitted of soft alpaca wool, the motifs cover an alpaca wool shawl. This novel wrap comes from Martin Garay. Artisan Info: “My name is Martín Garay Chavez and I was born on April 26, 1982. I am a textile artisan with a formal training in this area as I took several courses in renowned Peruvian academies. I strive to combine cultural artistry with contemporary trends to create innovative designs. “Ever since I was a boy, I’ve been incorporating art and creativity in practically everything I do. I’ve focused my art on textiles since 2000, moved by a desire to create something new and different. To me, innovation means to create a piece that is unique ? like an indelible fingerprint that survives time. “I look to transmit the harmony between what is antique and what is modern. I seek a balance between millenary cultures and contemporary trends and their application to everyday wear. “I began by making sketches and then I realized I wanted my sketches to become tangible objects, make them real. That’s how I started to bring them to life through different means such as textiles. “When I was a boy I used to go to the office where my mom and aunt worked, and I would start chatting with the other women there. Later I would start drawing based on what we’d talk about and the emotions I perceived.
Click to see